Parent/Student Resources

Parent/Student Resources

DRUG/ALCOHOL ABUSE

•Al-anon and Alateen--This webiste offers support to those with family members or parents who suffer from alcoholism.http://www.al-anon.alateen.org/

•Above the Influence     www.abovetheinfluence.com/

•Drugs and Alcohol         http://kidshealth.org/teen/drug_alcohol/

•Methamphetamine Information  www.methfreetn.org   

•Smart Moves, Smart Choices--Information about Rx Drug Abuse     http://www.smartmovessmartchoices.org/   

 

CHILD ABUSE and DATING VIOLENCE

•"What is Child Abuse?"     http://kidshealth.org/teen/your_mind/families/family_abuse.html

•Dating Violence      www.chooserespect.org  , www.breakthecycle.org , and www.loveisrespect.org

 

BULLYING

•Stop Bullying Now!     http://stopbullyingnow.hrsa.gov/kids/

•National Crime Prevention Council: Bullying, Cell Phone Safety, Cyberbullying, and Internet Safety http://www.ncpc.org/topics/bullying

•PBS Kids: Bullying      http://pbskids.org/itsmylife/friends/bullies /

•Kids Health, "Helping Kids Deal with Bullies"     http://kidshealth.org/parent/emotions/behavior/bullies.html

•Relational Aggression (Girl Bullying)     http://www.girlshealth.gov/bullying/

•Girls Bullying Girls     http://www.teachersandfamilies.com/open/parent/ra1.cfm

•The Ophelia Project     http://opheliaproject.org/

 

INTERNET & ELECTRONIC DEVICE SAFETY

◦Cyberbullying     http://www.stopcyberbullying.org/

◦NetSmartz         http://www.netsmartz.org/

◦A Thin Line         http://www.athinline.org/

◦Safe Teens: Internet Safety     http://www.safeteens.com/

◦Cyber Tipline     www.cybertipline.com

◦I Keep Safe         www.ikeepsafe.org

  

SUICIDE PREVENTION AND EDUCATION

•The Jason Foundation, Inc.     www.jasonfoundation.com
Tennessee Suicide Prevention Network    www.tspn.org  

•American Foundation for Suicide Prevention     www.asfp.org

•The Trevor Project (Specifically for LGBTQ Youth and Their Families)     www.trevorproject.org

 

DIVERSITY

•GLSEN  www.glsen.org

• www.teachingtolerance.org

 

COPING WITH DIVORCE

•"Dealing with Divorce"     http://kidshealth.org/teen/your_mind/families/divorce.html

•"How Can I Help My Child Cope with Divorce?" and links to other similar divorce topics http://kidshealth.org/parent/question/emotions/cope_divorce.html

•"Divorce--Helping Your Child Cope with the Break-up" http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/divorce/HO00055/UPDATEAPP=false&FLUSHCACHE=0

 

MENTAL HEALTH ISSUES

•National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)--This website provides information about various mental illnesses and links to support group information.         http://www.nami.org/

  

GENERAL CHILD HEALTH INFORMATION

•Kids Health--This website offers information about a variety of child and teen physical and mental health issues and safety. http://kidshealth.org/

  

PROGRAMS FOR GIFTED CHILDREN

•Western Kentucky University Center for Gifted Studies--This center provides many programs for middle and high school students. http://www.wku.edu/Dept/Support/AcadAffairs/Gifted/giftedsite/wordpress/

•Vanderbilt Programs for Talented Youth--There are many summer programs for middle and high school students. http://pty.vanderbilt.edu/

•Tennessee Governor's School for the Arts (Must be 10th or 11th grade)     http://www.gsfta.com/

•Tennessee Governor's Schools  (Must be 10th or 11th grade)      http://www.tn.gov/education/govschools/index.shtml

•Tennessee Association for the Gifted (TAG)         http://tag-tenn.org/

•National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC)         http://www.nagc.org/

 

CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL NEEDS

•Autism Society of America     http://www.autism-society.org  

•Learning Disabilities Association of America     https://ldaamerica.org/

•"ADHD in Teens"         http://www.webmd.com/add-adhd/guide/adhd-teens

•"ADHD: Helping Your Child Get the Most Out of School" Article     http://www.webmd.com/add-adhd/guide/how-to-help-your-child-with-adhd-be-successful-in-school

•Adults and Children with Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder     www.chadd.org

  

HELPING CHILDREN COPE WITH GRIEF

•Helping Your Child Deal with Death  http://kidshealth.org/en/parents/death.html

•About Childhood Grief  https://childrengrieve.org/about-childhood-grief 

Helping Children Cope with Loss  http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net/conditions/helping-children-cope-loss


EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS

•Emergency Preparedness  https://emergency.cdc.gov/preparedness/Parent/Student Resources

Comments